WIM USA Honors Inclusion Trailblazers

Commemorating Those Who Came Before Us

As the International Women in Mining (IWiM) celebrates the “inclusion trailblazers” in the mining industry, we also want to pay tribute to them and acknowledge the contributions of the WIM USA women who paved the way for inclusion in our industry.

IWiM has invited the global mining industry to participate by showcasing how gender inclusion can be one of the greatest assets the industry, through submitted photos and videos. 

So, without further ado, WIM USA submits and commemorates the following inclusion trailblazers…

Debbie Schumacher

Debbie Schumacher (1953-2019)

The Founding member of the Kentuckianio Women In Mining Chapter in 1983, served as Chapter President and WIM USA President. Loved her 45-year career in supply chain with Peabody Coal Company in Boonville, Indiana.

Diana Baldwin

Diana Baldwin (1948-2016)

In 1973, Diana Baldwin, age 25 (left), and Anita Cherry (right), age 39 became the first female underground coal miners in the U.S. Working at the Beth-Elkhorn Coal Corporation Mine 29, Kentucky, she was the first woman to operate a shuttle car in coal. Motivated to make more money, as a single mother of 3, she worked underground for two decades, then became a safety inspector for the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration.

Arloa Woolford

Arloa Woolford (1938-2017)

An active mining and community leader in Elko, Nevada and beyond, including WIM Nevada (1988-2017), Nevada Mining Association and WIM USA. She was the founder and President of the WIM Education Foundation and recipient of the WIM USA Distinguished Service Award, the National Mining Hall of Fame Prazen Award (2014), and recognized by the Governor of Nevada in 1992.

Jill Ivy Farnsworth

Jill Ivey Farnsworth (1956-2021)

Enjoyed a 42-year career, beginning as a mining engineer working in underground uranium production in Grants, New Mexico. She went on to become possibly the first female Mine Superintendent in the U.S. at Mississippi Potash, Carlsbad, New Mexico. Extensive underground mining experience in the uranium, coal, potash, and waste disposal industries in southwestern U.S.

Dr Leanne Baker

Dr. Leanne Baker (1953-2020)

35+ year career in the mining industry specializing in commodities, equity research, consulting. Beginning with a Ph.D. in Mineral Economics from Colorado School of Mines (CSM), then a move to Wall Street in New York, was a trusted  advisor to international mining companies and investor groups. She went on to be on the Board of Directors of Agnico Eagle Mines Ltd., McEwen Mining, and numerous other companies. A scholarship was founded in her honor at CSM.

Cindy Moore

Cindy Moore (1960-2015)

30+ year mining engineer, member of SME, Women’s Mining Coalition, Northwest Mining Association, and Board of Directors of the ALS Association- Evergreen Chapter. Honored by Hecla Mining with the Cindy Moore Courageous Impact Award presented annually by the Society of Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration (SME).

Catharine Tak-Ling Fogg

Catharine Tak-Ling Fogg (1935-2020)

20+ year career at the U.S. Bureau of Mines as a Mineral Specialist, traveling to China to study minerals and foster relationships with China. Received a BS in Chemistry (1958) from Washington University and active in promoting women in mining and Asian women in science. Involved in WIM Denver and WIM USA, Asian Pacific Women’s Network of Colorado, Rocky Mountain Chinese Chamber of Commerce, and Organization of Chinese Americans.

Betty Willard

Dr. Betty Willard (1925-2003)

Influencer of western U.S. mine reclamation, specifically high altitude, as the first female Department Chair and founder of the Environmental Science & Engineering program at Colorado School of Mines (1977). Ph.D. in botany/plant ecology (1963) from CU Boulder, 40 years of tundra plant research in Rocky Mountain National Park, participated in WIM Denver sponsored events, extensive author, and served on Presidents Nixon and Ford’s Second Council on Environmental Quality in the 1970’s, recipient of the UN Outstanding Environmental Leadership Award.

  • Categories

  • Blog Archive

  • Scroll to Top